My Skincare Picks!

Casewell-Massey Floral Rose Water

I discovered this Casewell-Massey Floral Rose Water when I was venturing into the organic skincare world. I love this toner because it is natural, gently cleans skin, softens, and smells great! Check your local organic market and browse through some sites online to find it. Pour a bit on a cotton round and gently glide it all over your face. There are also great alternative brands, and is great for sensitive skin.

L to R: Estee Lauder Take It Away Total Makeup Remover, Lancome Bi-Facil

There are my TOP two makeup removers, the Estee Lauder Take It Away Total Makeup Remover, and the Lancome Bi-Facil. The Bi-Facil has been around for some time now, and there’s reason why it’s one of the top selling high end makeup removers. It’s very effective, light, and non-greasy. I can use it on my face as well as on my eyes. The Estee Lauder Take It Away Remover is a bit more cream-like, and has a fresh scent. I use this strictly on my eyes for mascara and liner on a q-tip because that’s where I feel it is most effective. It can sting a bit if you put it on a raw area, but this is great for people who have combination to oily skin. I think this also comes in a wipe form.

L to R: Claudalie Bio Grape Water Moisturizing Spray, Boots No. 7 Soft & Soothed Toner for Normal/Dry Skin

Over the years I have grown an affection for Boots No. 7 products because of how great the skincare products really are. For a drugstore brand, this is worth every penny. The Boots No. 7 Soft & Soothed Toner for Normal/Dry skin is good for everyday use to clean off remaining makeup after you wash your face. I use this every morning before I put on my makeup, or if you need a fresh pick me up during the day. It makes my skin fresh, clean, moisturized, and soft. The Claudalie Bio Grape Water Moisturizing Spray is wonderful for on the go freshness. I use this after I shower to lock in moisture on my face, and also as a makeup setting spray. I notice that it gives my skin a slight fresh, dewy glow, and feels amazingly hydrated. Highly recommended.

L to R: EOS Sweet Mint Lip Balm, C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve, Sally Hansen Vita-A Lip Line Smoother

I can’t live without lip balms. The lips are the first place on my skin to get dry instantly. I’ve tried a lot of lip products over the years and these are the ones I get the most use out of. The C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve is a multi-purpose salve to use on your face, knees, elbows, lips, and cuticles. It smells like sweet rose, and feels very emollient. I apply this on my lips at night and also before I apply lipstick if my lips are particularly dry. The EOS Sweet Mint Lip Balm is a great everyday lip balm. I love this scent and I love that it’s a natural product. The balm itself is domed and is a natural waxy yellow color. I feels very smooth and gives your lips a slight tingle. Last but not least, the Sally Hansen Vita-A Lip Line Smoother. I probably use this product the most out of the three. It says it has anti-aging and vitamin-powered properties to rejuvenate and moisten your lips. It certainly does that, I use this every time I use a lipstick, or by itself during the day. It smells a bit like peaches and glides on effortlessly. This is not very long wearing, but I love it none the less!

L to R: Estee Lauder Hydrationist Serum, Swanson’s DMAE Serum, Beauty Solutions Retinol Anti-Wrinkle Serum, Swanson’s Hyaluronic Acid Serum

Serums are kind of a new thing I got into, as I just hit a “Omg I’m a quarter through my life” birthday milestone. Serums serve different purposes depending on the ingredients and it’s potency. The Estee Lauder Hydrationist Serum is a lightweight alternative to your typical moisturizer. It has a clear, jelly-like watery formula that absorbs into your skin quickly. It smells a bit like cucumbers and makes my skin feel soft and hydrated. The Swanson’s Hyaluronic Acid Serum is strictly for locking in moisture on my face. There are many skin products that contain Hyaluronic Acid for this purpose. The Swanson’s brand is natural and fairly inexpensive which is why I initially gravitated towards it. You just need a little drop to pat all over your face. It makes my skin feel plump and very dewy. The DMAE Serum is for skin tightening and firming. I use this sparingly in certain areas where I feel I will see first signs of aging (i.e. under my chin, neck area, around my eye area etc.) The last product is a Retinol Anti-Wrinkle Serum. This is supposed to be an intensive firming treatment for your skin. They say prevention is key, so I said why not. I use this product sparingly on my eye and mouth area.

Olay Active Hydrating Beauty Fluid for Sensitive Skin

The Olay Active Hydrating Beauty Fluid is a light weight, moisturizing, liquidly lotion. It’s fragrance free, non-greasy, and contains aloe & chamomile. I use this alone on my face before makeup to prep the skin, and also mix it with whatever liquid foundation I’m using to give my face a dewy glow. I love this product because it makes my skin feel supple, clean, and smooth. It’s a great all around drugstore product to have around!

Boots No. 7 Protect and Perfect Night Cream

This product I CANNOT live without. It’s the Boots No. 7 Protect and Perfect Night Cream. I discovered this last year after being discouraged from the long search for a prefect department store night cream. I tried some Estee Lauder products and they just felt too heavy, oily, and were heavily scented. This cream is light weight, smells fresh, and keeps my skin feeling hydrated and balanced. I use this in the daytime as well as an alternative moisturizer. I doesn’t feel heavy on my face and absorbs into my skin easily. This is probably my MOST used skincare product I own. I highly recommend this if you have combination skin!

This is the Lancome Tonqiue Control Purifying Toner. It contains little finely milled powder to help mattify the face after cleansing, and control shine. I LOVE this toner because it helps to control oil in my t-zone and keep my face clean. I definitely recommend this for people with oily skin, because of it’s contents and how it works on my face. This can’t find this product at the counter anymore, but it still easy to find on beauty sites or Ebay for a great price. There is a comparable product that Lancome has now called the Tonique Pure Focus Toner which I’m pretty sure is VERY similar. Check out your local Lancome counter or Lancome.com for more info!

Leave a comment