Nuance Smokey Eye Quad

So, I discovered that Selma Hayek had her own drugstore makeup brand today, I was sort of taken back, as I usually am by “celebrity” products, but this somehow stood out. When I first saw it, I was drawn to the unique packaging, and the deep sultry yet cool colors of the quad. There was also a BOGO sale going on at CVS, so I said why not try it?

Here is the front of the box, it shows the quad when it is fully opened, and kind of looks like a spider-flower concept, which I liked! It says “Create alluring, smokey eyes with coordinating colors that shade, highlight, and define.”

When taking it out of the box, I was further intrigued!! It kind of looks like a small black bomb, small enough it fit in your hand. There are little slits on each sliver you you can pull the sections open. I can just have it siting on my desk as decoration!

After opening the quad, I was very impressed with the beautiful shades!! It looked glamorous, mysterious, cool-toned, and velvety. When applying the colors to my hand, some of them felt a bit chalky, especially the purple shade and dark grey color, but after blending it out a bit, the color transfer was good. They all have slight shimmer, and good staying power. They are very buildable in color and look gorgeous on the eyes, though I really had to swatch them several times to get the pigmentation below. Some colors remind of the Bobbi Brown eyeshadows. Definitely not your typical smokey eye palette!

Swatches L to R: Silver Mist, Warm Smoke, Cool Charcoal, Pearl Teal

2 comments

  1. Hello I am so grateful I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I donít have time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

Leave a Reply

